PeterMay

By PeterMay

The Height of Optimism

Set out in the rain in front of the airport at Inverness, these drookit tables and chairs demonstrate that Scottish optimism which somehow always believes the sun might shine. I wonder if they are ever occupied?

The flight from Stornoway to Inverness passed in a blur induced by a mere three hours of sleep, followed by a drowsy two-hour train ride to Inverurie. While waiting for the train I popped into Waterstones to sign stock - about two hundred books.

Lunch at our Inverurie hotel preceded an afternoon siesta that stretched out until 7pm and then dinner. Yet more sleep is still required to set me up for my Saturday night event and the week ahead that will take me to Toronto, New York, Boston, Minneapolis and Houston.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.