AJC

By AJC

The Day There Was No Dawn

Who lies here? Only the lichen knows.

The day there was no dawn, only drizzle. And not the good kind either. Which was annoying, as today was one of the rare occasions when I had time to plan a shoot. But half an hour after "sunrise", there was only wind and thick drizzle, and this grainy high ISO image (I didn't have a tripod with me and I didn't feel it appropriate to use a gravestone as a tripod) which I've worked on a lot to turn into this (such as cloning out the raindrops of the lens). Three hours later, the sun was out. But I wasn't.

I'm not religious, but I like the thought that for a thousand years this church, and its wooden predecessors, was likely to be the first landmark returning seafarers saw. It was, and is, a sign of home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.