Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Teenage Gambel's Quail

They are cute when they are little, just running around like mad. Then you see them as teenagers, if you are lucky. I say lucky because that means they have survived to that age and not fallen prey to hawks, snakes or other critters who tend to snack on them.

I watch them trip over each other and jump up and down the wall. It's funny to watch them try to "fly" over the water dish because they are really more hoppers than fliers. But they do flap their wings when they have to do so. The teens just aren't very good at it yet. You can tell they are young by their undeveloped plumes.

I have the pleasure of having a very large family living somewhere near me. Today I saw about 12 kids at once with their parents. I tried to get a family portrait but nothing came out clearly. They're pretty quick on their feet!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.