The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Blues

Yesterday I walked beside the Thames in Richmond. If you like the vibrant hustle and bustle of walkers, cyclists, boats, diners and drinkers - the sound of laughter and loud conversation, the sqauwking of ring-necked parakeets - it's the place for you. I liked it, but somehow it doesn't compare to this: the Kent estuary just after sunset on a still evening, the only sound the music of gulls, oystercatchers, and in the trees behind me wood pigeons, reminding me of this from Friday night's concert.

We enjoyed our two days away. I will do a back blip from Friday, Wifie's birthday trip to London culminating in Kate Bush's fabulous concert at the Hammersmith Apollo. So I won't say any more now. But we were looking forward to getting home and being reunited with Gus. He was a happy boy, so well looked after by A, who confessed she was smitten. He has that effect on anyone who spends time with him. A beautiful and gentle soul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.