up up and away

I got a last minute invitation to have a ride in a hot air balloon on Sunday evening. It is something I have wanted to do for ages and you may remember my anniversary present to fly was cancelled twice due to weather (hoping that one will happen in 2 weeks).

The flight was courtesy of Holthams who have fitted our kitchen and bedrooms, the owner is an enthusiast. He told me lots of stats about his balloon and flying but I cant remember them as I was in awe of the view and the whole experience.

Having drifted into Nottinghamshire we landed smoothly in a remote field near Hucknall, the sun had gone below the horizon and we had a race against the light for the recovery team to find us. They were within a mile of us but neither they or we could understand how they could get to us !! A long story cut short is that I spent time running over fields and down tracks etc whilst the other 2 passengers man handled the balloon and Graham Holtham coordinated and controlled activities. With the "help" of someone driving a car without lights on down a track ,who I am convinced was high on what he was smoking, I managed to reach the oncoming recovery vehicle and directed them into a now dark field and all ended well.

What a fab experience from a high quality supplier and fitter of kitchens and bedrooms (end of ad)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.