Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

A Bit Of Bay Colour

After a getting home after a call out, I said good bye to the wife who was off to work, and then after after a quick cup of coffee I was back out. I needed to post a couple of things I'd sold, and then meet up with a person who was buying a few books off me.

After a chat, the sun was out; no sign of the earlier rain, and the car showed 26c.

As I was on the outskirt of Cardiff I thought I'd have an hour around the Bay. It was reasonably quiet but loads of police. Some with their Heckler & Koch machine guns. I got a few respectable photo's but like the blip one of The Immigrant Statues that have been 'Ninja Knitter' bombed a few weeks ago. The lovely blue sky and white clouds really set them off. I've taken many of this statue over the years, even with the knit wear, but today is worth publishing.

The bronze sculpture of a young local couple with their dog created by John Clinch in 1993. It celebrates the people who lived and worked locally in Cardiff
Bay.

Cardiff Bay, Butetown or Tiger Bay as it is also known is very different to how it used to be. As a result of growth in Butetown during the 19th and early 20th centuries the surrounding dockland area grew into a cosmopolitan community with seafarers from all around the world making Cardiff their home. It is estimated that people from at least 50 nationalities settled in this area. This kaleidoscope of settlers helped to build the docks, worked aboard the ships and helped to service this industrial and maritime city.

I'm surprised the statues knit wear hasn't been unveiled by the 'jobs worths' at the council, or stolen by drunken yobs, over the past two months. A tribute to good art work?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.