Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Homecoming

Friends shared a couple of tracks last weekend which we really enjoyed, so I've bought a copy. Nicola Benedetti playing a mix of classical and traditional Scottish music with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and some of our finest folk musicians.

My favourite track has to be the Mouth Music and Tunes Set, featuring Julie Fowlis. Quite superb. If you want a wee review - I do think Nicola's skills lie more on the classical side, however interesting to hear her playing with the fiddling master Aly Bain.

The title is appropriate right now, as my boys prepare to come home from East and West. #1 starts his journey tomorrow, back from the US.

My friends Graeme, Esther and Tim, the Band Ashton Lane, shared a new youtube link today, in the run up to the Referendum. It's part of their Kitchen Sessions. Worth a listen : Gin I were a Baron's Heir. Beautifully sung.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.