Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Gee aint it swell

The East Coast low has been whipping up a huge swell and so the forecast dangerous seas are well and truly with us. The surf reporter (who is useful to listen to as far as whether the sunrise is going to be any good) was gobsmacked this morning and said it was the biggest he had seen this year. The ships have weighed anchor and headed out to sea to weather the swells and the coast is copping a battering with stiff winds. I have not seen such a high tide in my memory although I am sure it has been as high as this before and higher. Certainly the waves were not breaking into the car park at the baths which they did on one previous occasion.

At lunch I walked down the breakwall and as usual, there were a number of spectators and surfers in the harbour. The waves were huge and the harbour is closed to shipping. I chose mono for this as it showed the massive wave better.

I watched a pelican, normally a graceful glider of currents wobble on it’s wings fighting the wind and then drop suddenly and then right itself. Funny to think that it was probably going through turbulence.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.