43 years ago

I had just graduated from Wheelock College in Boston and the economy was in a slump. Teaching jobs were as scarce as hen's teeth and not many of us had jobs lined up before graduation. My placement director at school convinced me to take a chance on an interview in northern Maine, Aroostock County, in a town on the Canadian Border, Van Buren . According to her, they had jobs, government money to spend on education and a very needy group of youngsters waiting to be taught. Long story short, my dad and I drove 11 hours north a day or two after my graduation party, I changed my clothes in the rest stop pictured in one of the photos and had an interview. They offered a job, I accepted, dad had the car tires balanced at a local garage, we ate and drove 11 hours back home again! Smaller than small town, most folks were devout Roman Catholic, and most spoke an ancient patois brought from France via Nova Scotia. These Acadians stayed north, others went south and and you know them as the Cajuns. After the interview I met with a local guy who ran a motel/ restaurant and rented apartments in the same complex. He knew of a young woman who had accepted a job as the elementary school social worker and she needed a roommate. He gave me her name, she was from Massachusetts as was I. Soon after, we met, decided we would be compatible, her mother and my mother were teachers and had actually taught in the same school system, small world.

I had a summer camp job and couldn't go on a trip the school district had planned to introduce each other. Our apartment wasn't ready, we lived in rooms and various situations till we moved in together and hit it off. There were seven newbies from out of state or down state in Maine and we all had a steep learning curve teaching wise, but so much fun. It snowed from early November until late May and averaged -20 F most of the time. We just partied harder I think! My roommate married another newbie, and in 15 minutes they will be arriving here for an overnight. Retired and happy. We last saw them at our wedding. I'm excited!


Tomorrow you shall see how the sands of time have treated us. This blip is a bit rushed, it's been a busy day already!

For the Record,
This day came in warm and dry.

All hands healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.