Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Flower?

After visiting the gardens at Selbourne, I tried to get a variety of Cotton Lavender that I'd seen there. Needless to say I wasn't successful but came home with one that the owner of the nursery gave me for the total sum of £1. He knowledgeably told me that he would be unlikely to sell it because nobody wanted yellow in their garden schemes. Oh well... I'm out of fashion again and loving it!

The rain seems to have caused anything with any tone of yellow in it to go ape! I have a variety of marigold called 'Beaujangles' that normally hides in the vegetable patch. Now the vegetables are hiding amongst the blooms. I love the dark russet yellows of the multi-headed sunflowers 'Indian Blanket' and 'Autumn Beauty'. The yellow heads of the fennel and dill have never been better and mix superbly amongst the flowers of the courgettes, cucumbers and tomatoes.

This is one of the smaller flowers that is blooming all over the garden. I first sowed it from seed about four years ago. I can't remember what it is but it's happy to give me plenty of seed to keep it going year after year.

Damn the fashion. I'm keeping yellow, red, blue or any other colour in the spectrum. Keep throwing me cheap plants that the others don't want!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.