The artist, the Irishmen and the table with hooves

Dropped into the antique shop on the square to look for a 90th birthday present - as you do - and found artist friend Sheila sitting there, and two Irishmen inspecting this table. The elder, and more dishevelled of the Irishmen, apropos of nothing announced 'I'm Jewish actually - my great-grandfather - you wouldn't believe that would you?' (fixing me with a glare.)
Why not? I replied, for that matter I'm Jewish too - my great-grandmother.

The table under discussion, seen here, seemed an elegant enough item but its cabriole legs ended in cloven hoofs (see inset) - goats' perhaps, how peculiar! I thought it might be a sort of satyrical table but now I find that feet of this type were popular in 17th century furniture and known as pieds-de-biche (doe's feet) which harked back to Roman and Egyptian designs, (see here).
I was reminded of the expression to show the cloven foot meaning 'to reveal a devilish character, or betray an evil purpose.'
This notion generated stories about pretty girls being led astray at dances by quick-stepping charmers who turn out to be the devil in disguise, as revealed by their twinkling hooves.

Which all goes to show, I suppose, that you should never waltz with a pieds-de-biche table.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.