fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Heart Happy Sign

Today I was with my friends whose daughter recently gave birth to a beautiful premature , but healthy baby boy. I was helping out by chauffeuring them around to the hospital to visit the baby and their daughter. In between visits etc. we went out to lunch at one of my all time favorite restaurants---Cafe Flora in the Madison area of Seattle--a vegan restaurant that has delicious offerings.

After a yummy lunch I saw this sign posted next to the bathrooms---I took a double take and smiled! How wonderful I thought that here is a place celebrating gender diversity and making people who have gender dysphoria feel welcomed to be who they are! I have a couple friends who have suffered extensive depression and bullying the majority of their lives because they have this. They are our friends, our family, our fellow blippers....just as there is diversity in race and class there is in gender issues and we need to educate ourselves and be sensitive and supportive . It's seldom these days that a sign of any kind makes me feel good...this one did! Thank you Cafe Flora for truly making everybody feel welcome at your establishment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.