Highland Mary

Highland Mary was born in Dunoon in 1764. Robert Burns wrote of her.....

I have heard the mavis singing,
His love song to the morn,
I have seen the dew-drop clinging
To the rose just newly born;
But a sweeter song has cheer'd me
At the ev'ning's gentle close,
And I've seen an eye still brighter
Than the dew-drop on the rose.
'Twas thy voice, my gentle Mary
And thine artless winning smile,
That made this world an Eden,
Bonnie Mary of Argyle


Her statue, which is by D. W. Stevenson, stands on Castle Hill, Dunoon facing the Clyde Estuary. It was erected in 1896.

If you look in Large, to the left of the picture, over the estuary, you can just make out the Cloch Lighthouse.

It has been a beautiful sunny day and just right for a bit of exploration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.