End of Summer

What a beautiful day - warm, sunny and everywhere butterflies, dragonflies and bees making the most of the last days of warmth. I intended to work in the polytunnel but it was too hot so got to work in the garden instead. A fine harvest of apples, plums, grapes, tomatoes, cranberries and the last of the blueberries and blackberries have been gathered in. The leek bed has been weeded and the nasturtiums and rampant borage ousted. The lawn mown. Himself has been busy cutting up tons of wood and stone picking in the area that will be a new mini orchard - reclaimed from where we lost some big trees in the storms. Squadrons of tortoishell butterflies were enjoying themselves on the mint.

I had a very enjoyable swim, lolling around watching lots of vintage cars chunter by. It was the Turas Míle Míle apparently, a 1000 mile journey around Ireland. Quite afew of them had stopped for a bit of refreshment in the Tin Pub. Himself went to check them out too.

Thank you for the advice re Flickr, yes I suspect I didn't follow instructions re Yahoo and Google so will have to see what I can do. My brother has sent down a few pix from our time in London and I've uploaded one more image - he was trying to persuade me that we should go and watch Mamma Mia - no way!! I hate musicals but we did have a rather snobby giggle at the audience being bused in - high heels, tight skirts and a lot of shrieking being the order of the day. We were a rather more refined and academic looking lot over at Wolf Hall. Actually on closer inspection, I mingle in rather too well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.