Stop the world. I want to get off!

Well yesterday didn't quite go as planned. I am a bit held back in my description of the day because of my promise to protect someone's privacy. Obviously it isn't Arvin as I've told you all kinds of things about him. I ask and make sure it is okay before I post and he always says, "Yes."

Arvin is doing just fine and I am so very glad about that. But his TIA made me realize how mortal we all are and that while I can I want to be able to make the most of my time with Arvin. Luckily his Alzheimer's is going very slowly so we can still have the kind of warm and close connection that we've always had.

I think this realization and my expression of it was frightening and exacerbated a family problem. So yesterday we spent much of the day dealing with this problem.

We were able to get to the party late and had a really wonderful time there. It was so good to be with close friends who listened to our woes and gave us so much love and support. We didn't want to talk long as the purpose of the party was to celebrate the marriage of two wonderful young women, one the daughter of my close friend Helen, one of my art buddies. What a sweet, warm, happy evening we had.

Today I have spent calling folks and making arrangements relating to what happened yesterday. Tomorrow there will be more of the same. Life goes on. And I do believe the final result of all of this will be a quieter and less stressful life for Arvin and me. And I hope it will lead to a healthier life for all of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.