Yes...

I've purposely not actively expressed my views on the independence referendum to date. If you speak to me, you'll easily see which way I swing but I haven't proactively engaged because I like people to share their views without fear of judgement. Coming into the final weeks before the event, I thought I'd put my flag in the sand.

When I first heard about the prospect of independence, I was really of the mind of "Why change?" Things are okay as they are, but two main things changed my mind.

One, the prospect of having the power to remove nuclear weapons from our country. I find the reasons for having these things completely ludicrous in this day and age. I guess they were developed in the cold war for that age but the continued upkeep and even more insane, the talk of replacement. Mental…We’re better than that, if there’s a void, we can find a more creative and productive way of filling it than with the threat of a big stick that can never be actually used.

The second reason that swayed me was highlighted to me during this referendum process. If every man, woman and child in Scotland was able to vote and voted for a single party, that party still wouldn’t have influence in the UK politics because the votes of England completely dilute Scotland’s and so we end up with governments that don’t represent our choice.

There are other reasons but mostly, it's just feels like an opportunity not to be missed.

It’s a very unique opportunity and come the 19th, I hope we wake to a new independent Scotland. All these promises or pledges on both sides are not going to magically happen overnight and in fact I still think that very little will change, the wheels won’t fall off and the country breakdown. It’ll be business as usual but we will have greater say in the direction we take. We can roll up our sleeves and get on with it.

Lastly, I thought I’d just share my brother’s analogy on the whole ‘separation’ view of this process. It’s not a divorce as is so readily discussed in the media, it’s more like a child leaving the family home. We want to stand on our own feet, make our own decisions. We ain’t going very far and we’ll still pop back to help you with the Wifi passwords while you explain how to set up a direct debits and we might not be a ‘United’ Kingdom, but we’ll always be a ‘Great’ Britain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.