9 days to go

I was on the second boat to Mull this morning for a campaign trip from Craingure to Tobermory. Coming out of Oban this was the sight that greeted me ; apparently this YES sign had appeared on the island of Kerrera sometime yesterday and can be seen very clearly not just from the boats but from the centre of Oban as well.

Kerrera was also good to me during the 2011 election , and I blipped at that time what I called the "best poster site in Argyll ". I think now it might be called one of the best poster sites in Scotland, especially given this morning's wonderful weather.

Judging by the lurid headlines in the UK press, displayed in all the local newsagents, it looks like panic is setting in at Westminster. However the reaction to talk up what is being promised after a NO vote is cynical in the extreme. The reality is that there are no significant new powers on the table only a "timetable" for changes that are not agreed, let alone guaranteed.

The only effective choice for the change that Scotland needs is a YES vote and that was the clear message I was putting across on Oban FM tonight in a phone in from listeners.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.