secret garden

By freespiral

... nor breath nor motion

A strange light this morning, grey and gauzy, and not a breath of air. I was on my way to Ballydehob and in and out of the car, so ethereal were the views.
It's the Taste of West Cork festival on at the moment and there are masses of events going on, most of them foodie but I was going for a historical tour of Ballydehob which hinted at a visit to a museum and ended in a finger food and a session! Himself is allergic to museums having worked in them for many years, so I went on my own. I was not disappointed. Eugene, our guide, was very knowledgeable and showed us all sorts of interesting things: where the old station had been, where Anna Parnell addressed a large meeting of the Ladies' Land League in the 19C, where Dano O Mahony, one time Champion Boxer of the world, had been feted on his arrival home; a memorial to three local women who were on the Titanic and survived, the wall of the earliest school and the ruins of the Barracks, home of the first police force - they were in Ballydehob before London apparently. Not many people know that.
The finger food was indeed presented in Levis' bar - teeny glasses of gazpacho, tzatziki and Guinness cake, very cosmopolitan and very welcome. A trio of musicans belted out some traditional airs as we munched. The museum seemed to have been forgotten and I intended to visit it on my way home but got sidetracked by offering a lift to two very nice hitchhikers - a Swedish man and an Irish woman on the way to Allihies.

Back home and a rather bracing swim - just me and a juvenile seagull.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.