Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Innapropriately named?

This delightful creature is a Black-throated Green Warbler. And, as you can see, this one doesn't have a black throat, nor is it green. However, the breeding adult males do have a black throat and I suppose that you could see some olive green in the feathers if you looked hard enough. Like most warblers, they are small (5 inches/13 cm) and migrate north every summer to breed. They winter in southern FL and TX southward. This one is most likely an immature/first year bird. It was very curious and flew to within 8 feet of where I was standing on the deck - allowing for some great shots with little to no cropping.

I posted 3 other shots of this warbler, an American Redstart (warbler) and a very cheeky little chipmunk starting HERE on FLickr. The chippie was going to be my blip until the warbler showed up and stole the show for me.

Other than my brief sortie out to get this shot, it's been another day of working through my TO DO list. And, also the annual mammogram which was quick and (relatively) painless. Tomorrow I'm off to my primary doc to get my annual physical - which means that the only thing I still need to schedule before I leave is the audiologist. Yay, me.

Thanks for the comments, stars and faves on my hummer yesterday - you sent her to the spotlight page for a brief visit.

Debbi, over and out

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.