The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

On my way home from the cemetery

This is the bottom gate of Stroud hill cemetery, the older part. It gives on to the end of Horns Road, and I take the little path past the allotments and the newer part of the cemetery to get to my house.

I took the bus home, but CleanSteve told me the other day that this particular route is under threat. It is very well used, but all buses have to be made more accessible for disabled people. Since the company, Cotswold Green buys its buses second- or third-hand, it won't be able to afford to modernise the entire fleet. Our route, which serves both ends of Stroud and the Top of Town Estate above us, an area of lower car ownership per capita, may be cut. No one has any money to save it, apparently.

I for one will be gutted if this happens, and can see cuts being made right across Cotswold Green's route map. I don't know what will happen next: will Stagecoach take over the routes to the East of Stroud, which it dropped many years ago? Watch this space for infrequent updates on the service.

The Tour de Britain came past our school gates today, but the nursery children didn't go to watch. The rest of school did. So, being in the nursery, I missed a little slice of history, but did hear the wail of sirens on the A46. CleanSteve will blip the event. Apparently there were many police outriders.

And now to look through the many pictures I took on the 50D at Slimbridge yesterday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.