todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Back in the game...!

From an early age I was very sporty and very competitive. In my late 20s - 20 years ago - I accepted an invitation to play squash and fell in love with the game instantly.

I quickly became pretty useful on court and held my own at our weekly squash ladder. And then my life changed and squash was difficult to spin with all the other plates. I thought I'd hardly noticed its disappearance as I was really busy and still very active in other ways. Until I stepped back on court. And instantly felt at home.

I've recently become chums with a young guy who's a damn fine tennis player and also plays squash for fun. We quickly set up a weekly game. At the squash court attached to my beloved Glenpark cricket ground. On my doorstep.

Tonight's game was only my second time on court in twenty years. Funny how it all comes flooding back. The feel of the racket in my hand; the shots; the strategy; the game playing; the fun; the competitiveness; the sheer joy and satisfaction only an hour's hard graft in sporting combat can bring.

I'm back in the game!

Today outof10? A sporting 9.5 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.