Windmill at Norton Lindsey

I've driven through the village of Norton Lindsey on many occasions and had no idea that it contained such a treasure as this. I spotted the hint of the sail post as I turned the corner, and stopped suddenly to explore more. Sure enough, in a field at the back of some houses I came across this disused windmill.

According to what I've found on the internet it is a preserved small mill, (42ft (c.12.8m) high 18ft (c.5.5m) base diameter). It consists of 3 storeys, and has a red brick tower with slight batter built about 1795. It had 4 common sails and steam power was added in 1889. The Mill last worked in 1906. It was given a new cap 1977. I do hope money can be found to preserve it, it would be so sad if it was just left to decay further.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.