Another Little Free Library

Not a very big one, but bright enough to catch my eye as we drove past. There was a man trimming leaves and branches from a large tree next to the library box, so I asked him about it. Turns out he didn't live in the neighborhood either, but was there to harvest mulberry leaves for his partner's silkworm operation! That is certainly not an answer that I expected, and we talked a bit about raising silkworms. I got their phone number before I jumped back in the car, and perhaps I will visit their farm for a chance to photograph the cocoons.

Back to free libraries: take a book, leave a book. It's a global movement to get books out into the community. Check out their site. I've found several in our town, some registered with the parent organization and some renegades (of course--it's Santa Cruz!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.