Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Reprieve!

Yes, I rang and cancelled the vet appointment for next week. JR has been concerned that it's too early, and the breeder suggested he should be at least a year old. Besides, he's no problem, he's not aggressive. He did have a couple of little incidents in the hallway which caused the appointment, but this hasn't happened again. Do I sense a collective sigh from male blippers...

One of my burly men has turned up to do next bit of the path. All good.

Archie and I went down town. The haar was hanging around again. I was in search of some 'Big Beasts' - the press term for senior Westminster politicians, who have been swarming all over the place lately. Didn't see anyone of note - probably too early for them.

Archie had a run around on the grass in Princes Street Gardens (hence his grubby little legs and face). I've never seen dogs running round there, but didn't see any 'No Dogs' signs. Actually, I didn't look for any...

This piper is always here, practising his three tunes. At least, I think he's practising because he hits so many bum notes which, in a piper, are excruciating. I signalled to him if I could take a photo with Archie. I made Archie sit, then lifted the chap's toe-tapping foot and clamped it on the lead. Archie looks on in disbelief! I did pop a coin in his case for his assistance. Though not for his piping.

Back through the Meadows, the haar had lifted by this time - and we spied several groups of young people doing stuff. On further inspection (nosiness) I was told they were engineer freshers, and had to build things with big bits of interlocking panels. The first group had made a James Bond car, and tried to get Archie to sit in it and have his photo taken.

We then met Taylor, and had a great run around with her. He's flat out now, for the afternoon.

Another good day in the life of Arch. In fact, it's even better than he realises, because he can keep his bits for a while longer...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.