The Serenity of the Lake

After a second bad night's sleep, I got up early and headed to the Thatcham Discovery Centre just down the road. I've been here a few times now and its such a peaceful walk around the lake :)

I was just setting up the camera to take pictures when this bird landed on the rocks at the edge. Managed to get quite a few shots, but I wasn't sure what it was apart from its a gull. Chatting to someone walking round the lake, they thought it is a juvenile herring gull? Wondering if anyone can confirm this?

Some more shots in my flickr here.

I also spotted another bird I have not seen close too before, which is apparently a wood pigeon, plus a big surprise of a brood of tiny baby moorhens (unfortunately I didn't get a very good picture, they are so fast)! I didn't realise they would still be having babies at this time of year ~ the ones on the River Lambourn that I regularly blip here are much more grown up :)

Onto the housework, then maybe some craftwork or sewing :)

Happy Saturday folks :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.