Aurora Borealis - the story of anxious me :)

You maybe remember that I waited in friday night for the skies to clear up... And so it did, as I was already in my nightgown, it happened after the midnight: All clear skies, jippii!!!!

Jumped into some clothes and so we got into the car, camera, tripod and me, and I drove to the dark forest road I know, some 15km from the city lights. Slow Aurora Boreals flaming all over the sky, green, quiet, lovely.

Large.

The forest was quiet. Not a soul (hopefully) nearby. I felt lonely and precousious, wondered how an earth was I in there, in the middle of the night and if the bears and foxes ect do sleep at the time...? Some mist crawled to the road. Shivering cool.

Decided to leave. On the way an old church looked tempting to shoot - auroras above. As I got to it's graveyard in the moonlight and focused to the church (at 1am), some three guys came walking nearby with some plastic bags. I decided not to wait for another group, living or dead souls, and decided to leave - had one nice shot though - packed my belongings and drove to the lake nearby on my way home.

Well, for a while I was all alone by the lake. 1.30am.

There I was shooting the skies (no auroras seen, I thought it was cause the light pollution of the city and the moon also disturbed the situation), when a white small van drove near me to the abandoned factory. Someone tried to open the locked two gates and finally managed. Van dissappeared into the locked empty yard....

I felt SO alone there, by the lake and wondered if it was somehow better idea to stop here than to the church or to stay longer in the forest... Fastly packed my tripod and camera into the car and drove home.

And as I walked through our dark garden, at 2am, the green lights in the skies suddently came back. No mist and the moon was somewhere behing the house, the skies was flaming green through the city lights reflection..! Few nice shots and I wondered if it had been worth to drive for aurora borealis the 30km around in the darkness... But if I would not have, I'd have not this kind of experience to tell you ;)

Few more shots from my night journey here in my Flickr site...

Happy to get back home and into warm bed after the cool night +10c.

Susanna

ps the huge lottery Eurojackpot (61 million euros) was won in FInland. The whole jackpot, taxfree. wow!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.