Trudieva

By TrudievA

Meet Percy

This is a picture I took today at Kleb Nature Preserve. We went there for their annual Hummingbird festival. They have an old barn on the premises where a blacksmith was demonstrating his skills. I wandered around and saw some great opportunities for my macro addiction.

When we walked back to the main building and walked to the back, I saw this little owl. It was hiding in something that looked like a fake hole in a tree. They had put a little spotlight in it for the people to be able to see the owl, but it was still comfortable enough for him to not get stressed. This is Percy. They found him in a park and he was shot. His wing was damaged and unfortunately he'll never be able to fly again. The poor thing! His new purpose in life is to educate people about his species. I thought he looked like a Furby wit his cute eyes and fluffy ears.

The pictures I took of the hummingbirds were not a success. The ones I posted here on blipfoto were better. And also, we have hummingbirds in our backyard, but no owls (as far as I'm aware).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.