Scottish Street Skating Championships...

Here's a crazy concept. A concrete skatepark....indoors?!?!

I didn't realize how well this had been pulled off until I went there today to help judging in the first Scottish Street Skating Championships. The bowl that this has been taken in, is breathtakingly immense. A massive 10 foot deep minimum bowl with loads of wee hips and corners to take speed off. You look at this section Ruari is pulling a rather stylish invert on and gasp at the size of this 15foot ish ramp then turn to see a full pipe with cradled off end. It is amazing.

Anyway, this obviously is not a street skating picture as I was in full on judging mode but the actual competition went brilliantly. Amazing to see the standard of street skating isn't diminished even though we are literally spoiled in this country for transitioned parks.

On a judging note, I found I was one of the harsher judges on the panel. The street skating section of the park has a couple of quarter pipes that were used but I counted only one trick# that was done on them. As far as I was concerned, the winner should be the most technical dealing with street obstacles, the rails, the stairs, the hubbas and ledges.

Tom Shimmin from Glasgow absolutely made the first place easy to judge and was head a shoulders above everyone else. Everyone we spoke to knew he'd won hands down.


#The one trick I pointed on a transition was a rather tasty transfer the Kieran did from a quarter pipe across to a flat bank across about a 7 foot gap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.