Vader Violin

Great day today. We started with breakfast at Santiago's. It was delicious. Then we walked to the Royal BC Museum. They had an interesting show on Vikings. It was very interesting.

My favorite part was an exhibit showing what the Viking ships looked like by hanging the bolts that held the ship together on wire in exactly the position they would be in the actual ship. I wish I could take picture because I'd have loved to show what they did. I talked to two different guards about how they did that exhibit. There were wires everywhere and one hard push would have tangled them irreparably. The Danish History Museum sent two workers along to set up the exhibit. It took them a week to put it together.

What amazed me also was that this is a movable show, so they take the whole thing apart at the end and put the bolts in boxes and somehow contain the hundreds of wires so they don't get tangled and the put the whole thing back up somewhere else. Amazing.

After the museum we walked along Government Street. Everybody split up and Arvin and I had a good wander on our own before we all gathered at Bard and Banker Pub. We saw a street chalk art show and visited a bunch of arts booths down a street. I bought some great sock toys for our great niece and nephew and a Tom Thompson 2015 calendar. Then off to the pub. What a cool place that was. Sue wanted to go there to get Crabbies Ginger Beer. Arvin and I had regular beers. Excellent.

As we began to walk home we encountered this fellow in his Darth Vader suit playing violin. I had to take his photograph. He was quite willing as you can tell by his pose. We got home and now are relaxing as Cathy and her helpers make dinner. Arvin is taking a nap. I'm doing this. :) This evening we are going to wander down to Fisherman's Wharf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.