Inside the Pearce clock

MonoMonday challenge this week is time.

This is my paternal Grandparents clock. Dad says it was a wedding gift for his parents. Given Granddad Boo served in WW1 that makes the German made clock well over 100 years old.

I was fascinated with it as a kid. Sometimes it spent a little time in my bedroom, occasionally it was in our lounge but mostly it was in the hall cupboard.

It needs to be wound every 24 hours. The spiky drum revolves and and plays a tune, sort of like an alarm. Not so good if you've been demonstrating the clocks finer points and it starts playing at 3am! Even if I don't wind it for a while I just like it there where I can see it.

During my quake repairs it was carefully wrapped in bubble wrap and stored in a box and inside one of my low kitchen cupboards that didn't need emptying. I wasn't risking it with the movers. Just as well!

Mum and Dad had it restored and gave it to me for my 50th. I never knew my grandparents and I feel sad about that. But the clock is a tangible connection to their legacy in my life. It's a treasure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.