That Scottish thing

So it looks like they were horse mushrooms (see yesterday's note). That's a relief. Made sure the FT had all it needed. Glad to move on to other things at last. We could use some rain - which reminds me.....

I'll be glad when the Scottish thing is over. It must be a heck of a decision for anyone voting. I honestly don't know which way I'd vote if I were a Scot. All along I've been against the idea, on balance, but if part of the independence movement is intent on creating a more equal society, I can go along with that. Over the past 20 years I've seen how self-serving pay reports have multiplied senior executive salaries in big companies disproportionately to those on lower grades. And no-one in the Government has done anything to stop it.

Another thing that goes against the grain is all the scaremongering that has been raised by economists, business leaders and Westminster politicians from all sides. If Scotland does vote for independence, I don't believe for one moment the sky will fall in. That said, I still hope the Scots vote no, and, if they do, I hope the yes voters will accept the decision and celebrate instead the many new powers that have been secured from Westminster. But I doubt if it will pan out like that in the event of a "no" vote.

A big problem with yes v no is that yes sounds positive and no, negative. A "no" vote is not negative, nor is it somehow stuffy or died-in-the-wool. It's a genuinely expressed desire to remain part of a successful partnership. Too much of the yes campaign has become impassioned, even inflamed by old-fashioned nationalism. That won't carry Scotland forward. But surely Scotland has enough mature heads to make an independent country work.

Whatever Scotland decides, it is Scotland's choice and the view of its people must be respected. I worried, for a while, that too many people would make rash decisions but I'm confident now that most will make a considered choice, voting with their heads and their hearts.

Perhaps if the vote is "yes", an independent Scotland will grow to respect its sister in the south and get rid of that English-bashing anthem and English-bashing generally. Perhaps, also, the English politicians will reflect on the roots of the genuine feeling of alienation among so many Scots. It should have happened earlier, but it's never too late.

One gesture in recognition of a vote to preserve the union might be to re-name The Bank of England, The Bank of Britain. What? That's enough to make George Osborne choke on his porridge oats.

What of the Scottish currency? I'd been thinking about muckles a while back but I quite like the idea of Kevin Bridges' dad to call a separate Scottish currency the "Poun" and base it in Sterling - Poun Sterling - just to confuse everybody. Kevin himself has suggested the Smackeroony. I like that.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.