PeterMay

By PeterMay

Winnipeg

Winnipeg reaches for a sunny blue sky on my day off. For the first time in weeks I slept until after nine - although that would still have been just after 7am in the time zone we'd just flown from. Still, there was no requirement to leap out of bed and get washed and dressed. In fact, I languished so long catching up on the news with my iPad that I missed breakfast.

In the end, we didn't venture out until almost midday, and wandered down to The Forks - a recreational area of parks, restaurants and markets at the confluence of the Red and Assiniboine rivers around which Winnipeg has grown up. Although sunny, there was the hint of coming winter in the air. But everyone was out enjoying the sunshine, and work was nearing completion on the Canadian Museum for Human Rights, which opens in five days.

After a hearty lunch, I spent more time catching up on the referendum debate (no comment on sad Cameron who has so misjudged it all), before a delicious siesta. At the end of a day doing nothing, I almost feel guilty.

Still, back in the saddle tomorrow, with stock signings, an interview for CBC, and an evening event at the biggest independent bookstore in Canada. Then on to Toronto...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.