stuartjross

By stuartjross

Commando Memorial

My friend M is a very talented poet and after years of compiling her work published her first book this year. She emailed me last night asking if I had any images of the Commando Memorial for a project she is working on. It is a striking and evocative land mark with a grand view down the Great Glen Valley towards Loch Linnhe. A glance over your left shoulder takes in the Grey Corries and as your head realigns you will take in the big Nevis Range mountains and the Ben itself. I have never stopped here with the camera –and I pass here nearly every day for work- simply because it is photographed so much. You could of course say the same about Lochan na h-Achlaise and that doesn’t stop me there.
I had a big office day today and unusually I achieved absolutely everything I set out to do. This was at the expense of any exercise or fresh air. Not that it was any exercise, I jumped in the car and went along the road to try and get a picture of the memorial. Unless you get up at first light or know exactly what a scene will look like at dusk you can rarely just set off to take a photograph. It is much more likely that something interesting presents itself and you have to have the camera to hand to grab it.
As always the car park was busy with cars and at least one bus and lots of tourists were wandering about. You really want to point the camera west too so early morning favours you with better light and less people. Anyway, I’m going to send this one and another couple to M to see if it is suitable. I’m sure she will already have the image she wants in her own mind’s eye but she now lives a long way from Lochaber. Muse at Mabel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.