The Seven Spades

As a child somewhere late sixties / begin seventies I recall often passing this meters high art object consisting of seven spades, but I never knew what it represented and why it was there.

Today I tried to find out more info to complete my daily journal, but how I tried to Google, I couldn't find any background info.

So I decided to use 'a wild card' - no, not the card games 7 of spades ;) - but a public call for help on FaceBook.

Inge Hartgerink came up with the neccesary info, so thanks again Inge!

The spades had been used as individual eye catchers on several locations to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Plantsoenendienst - the Park Maintainence Service - and were afterwards placed together as one total object in the Scheveningse Bosjes across the street to the Indonesian Monument.

Ps. If you enlarge the image you can see two cyclists and get an impression of the dimensions of these spades.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.