DarkPeakBirder

By DarkPeakBirder

A local landmark.

It's been a grey day today with low cloud rolling down off the surrounding hills. On a visit to the local DIY store took the opportunity to take a photo of the local landmark - a very tall chimney from a now demolished alloy works. I'm not sure if anyone knows why but the buildings were taken down and not the chimney.

In better weather you would see the purple moors of the Peak District in distance.

I took a pictures from a few angles but decided this one across the local football pitch gives the best idea of the height of the chimney. I couldn't help wondering if the chimney would lie along the full length of the pitch, I hope we never find out.

I'm not a football fan but I should mention this is the ground of Glossop North End, who are progressing nicely through the early qualifying rounds of the FA Cup. Their last match went to a penalty shootout!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.