Autumnal moths part 4

I am still loving my new MV moth trap, and I am so surprised how much difference using a mercury vapour bulb can make. My old trap had a blended bulb (which can run directly off the mains) and the catch was at least 30% less. According to the net, this is because moths are especially attracted to the ultraviolet light spectrum emitted by them, the downside being they have to have a choke in the system, and cannot be connected directly to the mains, and they are VERY bright in use and may well upset the neighbours.
This beautiful Frosted orange moth Gortyna flavago was in my trap yesterday morning, and another newbie for my little suburban garden. It is found fairly commonly throughout England and Wales, it's favoured haunts being woodland , waste ground and marshes, none of which apply to my garden! It is on the wing from August to October.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.