Painting Studio Still Life

Busy day today in a good way. I went to open studio this morning. It has been awhile so it was great to be painting again. I did another small (8 inches by 10) acrylic painting. I'm still playing with acrylics and it was fun doing this. It was a "plein air" painting in that I painted from life and not from a photograph. I set myself up at the back of the studio facing the front where the windows are looking out into the lobby area. This was the view I had minus the other painters. It seemed too much to get them in the painting. One thing about painting in plein air - editing things out is really necessary. And this time the people had to go.

At the end of the day I took a bunch of photos of paintings. I photographed three of my teacher Trish Harding's paintings. I trade for discounts on the cost of open studio.

Then I went across the street to photograph all the paintings in the Bellingham Plein Air Paint Out (PAPO) show. Each year I do this for free. I also have a painting in the show. The opening is this Friday from six pm until eight at Mindport, a wonderful gallery on Holly Street in Bellingham. If you are in the area, please stop by. I'll be at the opening.

Last but not least I photographed my painting that I did today in open studio. I'm enjoying working with acrylics. I have more to learn of course but I'm having a good time playing with this new medium.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.