Down Under the Plum Tree

There is a plum tree in the vineyard that I often walk through. The simple phrase of “Plum Tree” evokes memories for me. We have a well-thumbed copy of a controversial book that was published in the 1970s. It caused a bit of a storm when it hit the book shops. The book openly discussed sex, sexuality and drugs when there was little reliable information on these subjects for young people. Our copy was well used and was furtively passed around by our four children to their many friends. However it eventually came home and it remains on a bookshelf here It is a collector’s item. We checked it out on the internet and it is a well-sought after book.
Anyway the plum tree in the vineyard produces delicious fruit which taste all the better when I help myself to a handful as I walk past. Isn’t there a saying “Stolen Fruit Tastes Better”???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.