Wholesome Poulsom

By Mrs77

Momentous day

So I have just started a new book yesterday, the premise is that Scotland narrowly votes for independence and immediately regrets it. Hmm, a premonition.

Anyway, its been a bit of a strange day, fairly murky weather wise but a nice catch up with antenatal class friends this morning and then a family trip down to the polling station. I had secretly been hoping for scenes of pitched battles between yes and no supporters outside the polling station, with myself heroically pushing my son in his buggy through the mayhem in order to exercise my democratic right to vote. In reality it was really really quiet, with one lovely old lady supporting yes stood on her tod in the carpark and that was about it. A steady trickle of voters and it seems that the turnout has been huge which is great.

So we have had 2 years to make our minds up, and I have to say my decision was made fairly early on. I have read, listened and watched and given it due consideration but my decision didn't waver. Numerous friends of mine have put their arguments in a far more cogent and coherent manner than I could possibly do so I will not take up space justifying my decision but the three main factors that led me to my decision were 1) currency 2) lack of vision of the SG in relation to foreign policy and 3) from an emotional perspective my pride of being British living in a tremendous country within a Great Britain.

So I voted NO.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.