Seventy Seven

By 77

A day for all...

So I've had a busy couple of weeks at work, and had to go down to London yesterday. I was originally asked to stay down for a couple of days but explained that I had to be back up in Edinburgh for today's vote.

So here we are, 2 plus years after the referendum was announced and it's finally decision time. I was probably an instinctive "no" voter and said at the time that the SNP gained an majority in the SCottish Parliament that they shouldn't take a large SNP vote to mean there was a mandate for independence.

Since then the two campaigns have set out their stalls and arguments and whilst I would say that I was genuinely open to being convinced of both the merits of and vision for an independent Scotland, I felt that the burden was on "yes" to sell a vision.

For me personally, the vision that's been put forward simply relies too much on looking on the positive side and getting everything your own way. It seems a wish list rather than an affordable and sustainable framework for a prosperous Scotland.

So for my reasons and mine alone, I voted "no" today.

Things are not going to be the same after today - I understand that. My biggest fear is that alongside all the other challenges we have to deal with a fractured and fractious Scotland.

We'll all know the result in a few hours and whatever it is, hopefully we can all clear away the devisive propoganda and get on with getting along.

That's my 2c and I'm going to leave it at that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.