A Day at the River

When I took a walk downtown (with no camera), I saw the duck family and the blue heron. I finished my walk, jumped in the car, and went back. While the baby ducks had moved, the heron was in the same place.

I get spoiled in Florida to be able to get close to the herons, but up here, I rarely get to see them. And, they always fly off.

This one was in the same area for 2 hours and 45 minutes. Made me wish that I had a bucket full of bait fish. Perhaps he/she would have taken it right out of my hand?

One question I do need to clear up. Do you think the heron would eat one of the baby ducks? I have seen them eat both toads and snakes, so I guess it could be possible. When the heron flew from his/her branch, mama duck went bonkers...trying to rally her babies to get near her.

A fun, and nice day. 60F, and partly sunny. Plus, we had our first night of volleyball (wallyball) tonight. Bump, set, spike...I like, I like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.