Pixel Smiths

By pixelsmiths

Vote

Tomorrow is New Zealands tri-annual elections, which by the way is far too short … five years would be more logical.

But regardless, tomorrow we get to choose again. Its’ interesting, we have a good political system I feel (MMP) but we have dysfunctional parties., The governing (right wing) party, National, has a charismatic leader, aptly named “Teflon John”. Issues slide off him.

The center left party, Labour, has a leader, David Cunliffe, who is not charismatic, and they have been in limbo for well, at least 6 years now. Technically I should support National, owning a businesses and all, but philosophically Labour is more the thinking. But in many ways not. Our Green party resonates. They will get my party vote.

But anyway, today I had lunch in a graveyard, Addington Cemetery to be exact. I quite like graveyards as they present many photo opportunities. And, I discovered that Kate Sheppard lives there, buried in 1934 and one of the advocates for women voting. Which New Zealand gained in 1893, the first in the world, kind of.

Funny how things like that happen. Kate Sheppard, quite amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.