The day after....

45% of voters , in the highest ever recorded poll in Scotland, supported independence.

That was Alex Salmond's doing. Without him it could never have happened and I am fortunate to have worked with him so closely over so many years.

This little press cutting is from the first Scottish Parliament elections in 1999 when he was leader for the first time and I was SNP Chief Executive. 9 years before I had been campaign manger for his first leadership bid. 15 years later I am fortunate to serve in his Cabinet.

Of course from time to time we have had our differences but I have never lost my respect for him , my awe at his political skills, and my fondness for his company .

I don't really have words for how I feel tonight because the emotions are all so contradictory. Analysis will come later.

But onwards....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.