Poppies for the Fallen

It's my birthday and I was treated to the most wonderful day out in London!

First I went to work for cake of tortoise shaped deliciousness and coffee, then I was whisked off to the Tower of London to see the poppies which are being planted in the moat to honour the fallen of the Great War.

888,246 poppies in total will be 'planted' - the final ones on the 11th of November. One for each of those who gave their lives for us.

Today it was the turn of the Pearly Kings and Queens of London to help plant, and we met a couple of them in the queue for ice creams.

We then made our way to the Imperial War Museum to see the new First World War exhibition, and met a friend who has been involved in the 2 year project to develop it.

The exhibition is superb, but it takes a fair amount of stamina to work your way around it - there is so much to take in.

The Holocaust exhibition is also amazing but extremely harrowing.

On our return we picked up Mum from her home and she treated us to dinner at the local Harvester - her favourite venue as the salad bar is free!!!!!!!

Of the numerous shots I took of the flood of poppies, this was my favourite.

I've added a few more in my blipfolio here

You can buy a ceramic poppy to add to the moat at the Tower for £25, but it is somewhat disappointing to learn that only 10% goes to the Service Charities, in spite of significant sponsorship

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.