Journey Through Time

By Sue

Thursday

Oh gosh, the 5 days are going fast! Today we opted to just play around Pacific City. My aunt wanted to rest as she was plumb tuckered out. So, we all did go down to the beach for a while and then later on she was able to rest and nap. Bill and I headed for the rocks at the end of the beach called Cape Kiwanda. And your bonus info is that Bill and I came here 41 years ago on a little vacation and I was preggers with our son. We climbed up Cape Kiwanda. It helps to be 27 years old! This time around, he helped me climb up onto a rocky ledge and a nice lady, who also lent a hand with that, took our photo. (I say it's not the age, it's the balance issue. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.) Yes, a rare photo of me. You'll have to go to the Flickr photos and search. It's a treasure hunt! ha

Pacific City is known for their Dory boats that can be launched right from the beach. This is one coming back from a successful fishing trip. It travels in, hell bent for leather, and then comes right up on the beach where it comes to a halt. Everyone piles out of the boat, it is put on a trailer, and off it goes, and in this case, it's a charter, so the guys get their fish and crabs back at the charter office. We saw one being launched out to sea and one coming in. I caught this guys expression, grinning from ear to ear. I love it. You can read about the Dory boats here. and you can see all the photos, including more with boats here. There are a lot of photos...but you can get through them fast, I know you can!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.