Live at the Union

Miles had a pretty bad night for the first time in ages. Thankfully he slept a little later so we were able to catch up a bit, then it was on the bikes and off to Short Round for waffles with orange curd and salted chocolate sauce (seriously: as good as it sounds!).

We then continued on in the same vein and met up with Johnny and Stacey for a coffee before heading back and carrying on the preparation of the hallway for repainting. We also bought a new tent (Aldi pulled through for us there... got to love their 60 day satisfaction guarantee and 1 year warrantee - not that we've ever had to use it, their stuff is awesome!), so hopefully there will be a camping trip on the horizon (the first of the season).

Then is was off to the Union for the afternoon gig. We played a few new songs that went down surprisingly well, as well as a more off-the-wall rocky riff that we tend to play at rehearsal. Not really in our style, but who likes to be pigeon holed anyway!?

I had a moment of hilarity in the middle of the first set when Miles (who had been dancing away until then) saw me on stage and just couldn't work it out. His jaw dropped and I could see him saying "Daddy, Daddy" and pointing over and over. I nearly completely lost it cause I was laughing so much. He was pretty keen on getting up on stage after that, and eventually managed whilst I was packing up... he bypassed all of the guitars, mics and amps and grabbed the sticks. I put him on the chair and this was the result (I saw a potential blip coming!).

We were home by 8pm (afternoon gigs are strange), and I just ended up in tears watching "Living with the Enemy". The level of racism, bigotry and narrowmindedness of one of the participants was completely overshadowed by the patience, dignity and tolerance of the other. Abe, if I ever see you around Fitzroy, I'm going to shake you by the hand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.