Half Marathon (13.2 miles)

Originally planned to do this in late October, the Luton half marathon on the 26th.

Holiday plans scuppered that idea, so I decided I would go ahead and train for the distance and just do it on my own, unofficially in that same week.

Found out earlier in the week that this week is Lymphoma Awareness week. Sod it I thought, might as well run the half marathon this week then; it has more meaning to me personally. So what if I'm not fully prepared.

Didn't sleep well last might., Sore throat. Was wide awake at 03:30. Was in two minds at that point. Probably got 5 hours sleep tops.

Actually didn't feel too bad this morning. Throat was still sore, but not claggy as it had been in the night. Decided to go ahead.

Did it. 21 km or 13.2 miles for those of us that still think in old money. 1 hour 59 minutes and 53 seconds. Just within my goal of sub 2 hours.

Failed to run a half marathon 30 years ago, aged 25 (collapsed within sight of the finishing line)

Succeeded to run a half marathon 30 years later, aged 55.

Fuck cancer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.