A mini-break to Liverpool

I keep meaning to take a bit of time off work, mostly to do a few things like building and then uploading all the podcasts for #electronicears, but we've been rather busy. (Mostly in a good way; I'm not complaining!) Consequently, my pencilled in days off get pushed further and further back.

However, a few weeks ago I arranged to go down to Liverpool to see my cherished chum, Bob, for the afternoon and despite the fact I probably could have made good use of the time in the office, I was determined to have a break, if only for one afternoon.

Thus, I arrived in Liverpool just after half-past two, this afternoon, to be met by Bob and our friend John at Lime Street Station. From here we made a short journey across town for a whistle-stop visit to the basement come building site that, in a few weeks' time, will be Bob's latest restaurant/bar.

Emerging back into the surprisingly pleasant daylight, we moved no further than the premises next door to enjoy the debauched pleasure that is drinking in the afternoon on a work day. Heck, it was even warm enough to sit outside! And so we spent the next few hours, chatting, drinking and occasionally eating. It was heavenly.

And maybe it was only an afternoon off but I felt like I was on holiday :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.