An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Good Morning..., Winchester!!

To celebrate both a third of a million total Blip 'views' (yes, incredible, isn't it?) and a very long stay at the top of the Spotlights with yesterday's Crescent Moonscape Blip, I caught the first train out to the fine Cathedral city of Winchester.

As the 2nd leg of the journey, the Southampton to Manchester '125' zipped along silently, with gorgeous pink mists and delicious shapes whispering by, I knew my strategy was to get up high and look East, once I had got to my destination.

After much scurrying for a high viewpoint, I really only had the top part of the Royal Hants Hospital car-park to cast my lens outward and into the pillows of cotton-wool mist. No views of the Cathedral, that was to the left much more, behind heavy trees - the one in the bottom left corner is the church of St Cross, whilst the distinctive clump of trees atop St Catherine's Hill is easily seen, one third in from the right.

LARGE

After an hour, the sun rose, but the mist stayed. The pics didn't change much though. An exploration not ventured before by me, of the western side of the city, including the hospital itself, the prison, yes, the local jail! and then it was a wander down into the old and beautiful parts, the watermeadows and a return to the Cathedral Close via the gorgeous Pilgrim's Way.

My sore feet from yesterday are in tatters now, or so they feel. But well worth it, methinks.

And how can I possibly thank everybody, one and all, all and one, for that huge mammoth total viewing figure and for all the Favourites and gorgeous comments yesterday?

Big rest needed now (as in sleep!) but back with you and Blip soon.

Lens is Tamron SP 70-300mm VC

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.