The Trail II - Where Eagles Dare

Don’t worry we didn’t go up there, but we watched a pair of Eagles swoop and circle it, they own that rock. Veena our guide for the trip was so thrilled that they were there, in her heart she’s an eagle she told us.

So we met Veena after breakfast, she’s was born and raised in the valley and works running mountain bike tours for the hotel we’re staying in. Picking up the bikes we set off up hill, nearly 4000ft of up hill, I’ll say that again, nearly 4000ft of up hill – with little flat and no down. Those who ride the mountain trails know that means only one thing – the descent that follows!.

Val Gardena is breathtakingly beautiful, the weather was kind, and the trail not over technical. Ortesei where we are staying is interesting from the linguistic perspective. The dominant first language of the inhabitants is Ladin 85%, then German 9% then Italian 6%. Veena was pretty fluent in all of these as were her children (they add Spanish and English as well).

As we toured the Valley up and down, it struck me how much I feel part of the moors I walk and run on at home (I’ve lived there for 10 years), I sensed that same connection to the trails and hills and place from Veena – but after 30-40 years she and it were the same.

Anyway a combination of Veena, me and my ego riding up and then Veena and L’s need for speed coming down and we arrived back in half the allotted time all thrilled and joyous from our trip. On the way down Veena and L swooped and circled like eagles. Me, I kept close, sang to myself, and marvelled at the beauty of the place.

Then a long relax, the old body has had a bit of a work out these last few days. I’ve not felt this deep sense of relaxation and wellbeing for longer than I can remember.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.